Support Center

How to remove / delete a plugin from your website

Perhaps you’ve installed multiple plugins but only use one or two regularly. You’ve disabled the rest and they’re just taking up space in your files and database. If you’d like, you can choose to delete those plugins entirely which will remove them from your system completely. To do so, follow these steps:

Disable or Delete the plugin (if you haven’t already)

In your Admin Panel navigate to Manage > Packages & Plugins.

If the plugin has a “delete” option, click that to delete it. Otherwise, click “disable” to disable the plugin.

Make a backup of your files and database

When making changes to your site that result in updates to your files and/or database, it’s always a good idea to make a backup first, in case something goes wrong. Instructions on backing up your site can be found in this article

Remove the plugin’s entry from the modules table in the database

Open the Cpanel/Database of your site, open the table "engine4_core_modules", and delete the row corresponding to the plugin. Or, just run the following query:

DELETE FROM `engine4_core_modules` WHERE `engine4_core_modules`.`name` = 'MODULE-NAME' LIMIT 1

Note that simple widgets and plugins might not have database entries. If you don’t find your widget or plugin in the database, simply continue to the next steps.

Delete the plugin’s files

Open your site via FTP and do the following:

  1. Go to the path /application/languages/LANGUAGE_PACK_DIRECTORY/and delete the language file corresponding to this plugin: MODULE-NAME.csv
  2. Go to the path /application/packages/ and delete the package file corresponding to this plugin.
  3. Go to the path /application/modules/ and delete the 'MODULE-NAME folder corresponding to this plugin.
  4. Go to the path /application/widgets/ and delete the ‘MODULE-NAME’ folder corresponding to this plugin.

Note that simple widgets or plugins might not have files in the above locations.

Remove all the tables and data related to the plugin from the database

Note: This step requires some mySQL knowledge. It is optional and it will not affect your website if you decide to skip this step.

When you uninstall a plugin, it may leave behind some database rows or tables, leaving you with a cluttered database. You can remove these by opening the /application/modules/MODULE-NAME/settings/mysql file and undoing all the queries written in that file that pertain to the plugin you have uninstalled.

Undoing the queries?

During the installation process, each module can execute several SQL queries in the settings/mysql file (such as Create, Insert, etc). If you intend to remove that information from your database, you should identify each query that’s been executed and undo or remove the data that was added as a result. For example, if a Create Table query had been run, you will need to delete the table that was created. Likewise, if there was an Insert query, whichever rows were inserted will need to be removed from the database.

That’s all, you’re done! The plugin is now deleted from your site. It’s a good idea to flush your site cache after deleting plugins.

Note: Once you have uninstalled a plugin and/or deleted its files, it is not possible to recover it. If you want to use the plugin again, you can always re-download and reinstall it at any point in the future.

Great work! Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions or need further tutorials. Visit our community to have more interactions with us and other clients or third party developers. We’d love to see you there.

support@socialengine.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete?b_id=14386