Support Center

Admin Panel - Settings > Friendship Settings

Facilitating relationships between members is essential to building a successful social network. There are several different types of connections that can exist between members. By default we refer to these relationships as "friendships" in this control panel, but you can use a word that best fits with your social network's theme. For example, if you are running a business-oriented social network, you may want to change this word to "connections.”

Determine your social network's friendship settings by establishing “Who can become friends”, the “Friendship Direction” (one-way or two-way friendships), “Friendship Verification,” and whether or not members may group friends into “Friend Lists.” Use “Friendship Settings” to determine how members will associate with each other. You can find “Friendship Settings”  in your Admin panel by navigating to Settings > Friendship Settings. 

Settings

Who Can Become Friends

Select how members can request friendships. Requests can be between “All Members,” “Only members within networks,” or requesting can even be disabled by selecting “Nobody.”

Friendship Direction

Your social network supports either one-way or two-way friendships. The default setting is two-way friendships as this is typical for most social networks. One-way friendships mean that when MemberA adds MemberB, MemberB will appear on MemberA's friend list but NOT the reverse.

Friendship Verification

Your social network can allow either verified or unverified friendship requests. The default setting is “Verified Friendship” requests as this is typical for most social networks. “Unverified Friendship” requests mean that when MemberA adds MemberB as a friend, MemberA and MemberB will immediately become friends without any confirmation.

Friend Lists

Using “Friend Lists”, members are able to create lists to organize their friends, and they may use these lists to send messages, and also to customize their privacy settings.

When done making any changes, make sure to click the “Save Changes” button seen in the image above.

Great work! Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions or need further tutorials. Visit our community to have more interactions with us and other clients or third party developers. We’d love to see you there!

support@socialengine.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete?b_id=14386